The Provinces

Buenos Aires

The Pampas

The Coast - North

The Coast - South

North and NW

Waters and Marshes

Central Andes


National Parks


Cultural - Art







PATAGONIA, fascinating scenery,  pristine nature....



What is Patagonia and where is it? 

What? An immensity of land (787.290 km2) covering a third of Argentine territory,  with only about 1,5 million inhabitants (4.5% of all Argentinians) living between the Atlantic coast and the Andean cordillera.  Patagonia is made up by the provinces of Neuquen, Rio Negro, Chubut, Santa Cruz and Tierra del Fuego.  Some will say that also the southern parts of Buenos Aires and La Pampa.  This is the land of whistling wind,  hard work and difficult  winters,  with lowest Argentine temperatures, but with incredible beauties,  some still being discovered.  Those  who fall in love with these natural wonders  will seldom leave the place , and if they do they are always longing to come back.

Specifically Andean Patagonia lies in the extreme southwestern cone of Argentina  and was named Patagonia by the Portuguese explorer Ferdinand Magellan in 1520 when he saw the Tehuelches natives wearing special big shoes to protect them from the cold (from the Spanish pata = foot)

Patagonia generates 84% of the production of Argentine oil,  extracts 76,8% of the total of national gas and supplies the national and world markets with fruit (mainly apples and pears) and wool.


There are 11 national parks in Patagonia: 

Neuquen : Lanin,   Los Arrayanes,    Nahuel Huapí,  Laguna Blanca

Neuquen and Rio Negro:  Nahuel Huapí

Chubut:  Lago Puelo,  Los Alerces,

Santa Cruz:  Los Glaciares, Francisco Moreno, Bosques Petrificados



In Tierra del Fuego: Parque Nacional de Tierra del Fuego


Hobbies and and Sports

Survival Vocabulary

General Links